Assemblyman Kiley's Statement After Committee Votes To Deny Opportunities to Students in Poverty

by Placerville Newswire / May 14, 2017 / comments

[Joshua Hoover]

Assembly Bill 1482 authored by (R-Roseville) was defeated on a 4-3 vote in the Assembly Education Committee, despite receiving bipartisan support. The bill sought to enable foster youth, English learners, and low-income students to transfer to schools districts that better serve their educational needs.

The bill was supported by leading education reform groups and parent advocates, and was opposed by the California Teachers Association.

Following the vote, Assemblyman Kiley made the following statement:

“California ranks at or near the bottom across the nation in educational outcomes for English learners and low-income students. This bill would have provided meaningful opportunities for these very students who are most in need, but four Members of the Assembly Education Committee had other priorities.

“The goal of AB 1482 was to provide parents with the ability to make the best decision for their children’s future by breaking down the current barriers that keep disadvantaged students from changing school districts. For many families, especially those without the means to move or pay for private education, the zip code in which they live dictates the quality of education that their children receive.

“Despite this setback, I will continue working to ensure every child in California has an opportunity for a quality education, as our Constitution guarantees.”

Voting in favor of the bill were Assemblyman Kiley, Assemblywoman Shirley Weber (D-San Diego), and Assemblyman Rocky Chavez (R-Oceanside); voting no were Assemblyman Todd Gloria (D-San Diego), Assemblyman Patrick O’Donnell (D-Long Beach), Assemblyman Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento), and Assemblyman Tony Thurmond (D-Oakland).


Assemblyman Kevin Kiley represents the 6th Assembly District, which includes the Sacramento, Placer, and El Dorado County communities of Cameron Park, El Dorado Hills, Fair Oaks, Folsom, Granite Bay, Lincoln, Loomis, Orangevale, Penryn, Rocklin, Roseville, and Sheridan.