Kacie's Ride for Hope Ends Run After 11 Years

by Placerville Newswire / Aug 10, 2017 / comments


A Sad Farewell from TheCenter:
Turning Tragedy Into Triumph - Kacie’s Ride For Hope Ends Run After Raising Close To $200,000 For Victims of Domestic Violence.
Kacie’s Ride for Hope to End Domestic Violence turned tragedy into triumph after more than 11 years of educating the community about domestic violence. Pat Barron, his late wife Sharon and a dedicated circle of friends created a legacy that will endure long after the roar of their motorcycles fades from the mountains.
In July 2006, 40-year-old Kacie Barron was shot and killed by her ex-boyfriend in the driveway of her Placerville home. Kacie Barron loved riding motorcycles and in September 2006 Kacie’s brother Pat Barron gathered a small group of Kacie’s friends to do a motorcycle run to honor his sister. They decided to ride to Hope Valley which was Kacie’s favorite run. Little did he know that he would turn honoring Kacie’s memory into hope for thousands of victims of domestic violence.
Pat established Kacie’s Ride for Hope to End Domestic Violence, a nonprofit organized to host a motorcycle run through Hope Valley every year with the goal of educating the community about domestic violence and raising funds for The Center for Violence-Free Relationships, the agency that helped Kacie as she sought to leave her ex-boyfriend.
The ride started small with about 75 riders in 2006, and grew to host over 400 riders in recent years. Kacie’s Ride for Hope was a very popular event that drew in motorcycle riders from all across California, Oregon and Nevada to make the run from downtown Placerville through Hope Valley.
Raising close to $200,000 over the past 11 years, Kacie’s Ride for Hope has provided safety and shelter to families fleeing violent homes. The Center used funds raised through Kacie’s Ride to help victims by providing counseling for them and their children, by providing legal assistance to help with custody and child support issues, restraining orders and divorce filings.  Thousands of victims and their children have been helped over the years all due to Pat honoring his sister’s memory.
In 2014, The Center for Violence-Free Relationships dedicated their 18-bed safe house to Kacie Barron. Now called Kacie’s House, A Place of Healing, A Place of Hope, it welcomes families fleeing from violence and lets them know that there are wonderful folks in the community that support and care about them. Those entering Kacie’s House hear the fantastic story of how one woman’s struggle ended and how it sparked the creation of something powerful that would bring healing and hope to so many in our community.
This September there will be no rumble of bikes roaring to life to remember one of their own whose life was cut short, but there will be memories that last a lifetime for those that helped build a legacy to honor Kacie Barron… and she will live on in the memories of those that come to Kacie’s House broken but leave healed and full of hope.
Kacie’s Ride for Hope will not be held this year, but there are still families that need your help. If you would like to make a donation in honor of Kacie Barron or Kacie’s Ride for Hope please visit www.thecenternow.org.

Thank YOU to all the Volunteers! 


On behalf of the Board of Directors, the staff and the volunteers at The Center for Violence-Free Relationships, we want to humbly thank Pat Barron and all of the wonderful volunteers at Kacie’s Ride for Hope. 


You all have made a difference and you have truly touched so many lives. We will wait to see what your next adventure will be.


Pat Barron

Sharon Swayze Barron

Jay Aliff

Richard Artz

Deanna Austin

Linda Barbour

Stacey Bixby

Becky Boltz

Katherine Boone

Robert Bowen

Janet Bradley

Niki Breedlove

Ron Breedlove

Stefani Breedlove

Tim Breedlove

Tori Breedlove

Jenny Bridges

Jessica Bridges

Skylar Brooks

Shaelyn Butler

Don Carlsun

Jerri Carlsun

Micaela Carrero

Eric Christopherson

Gregg Cinnamon

Natalee Sue Clark

Milana Cleveland

Jason Crol

Dale Daneman

Conner Dashnan

Patty David

Debbie de Ryk

Kevin de Ryk

Elena DeLacy

Alicia Denhart

Myrrh Dodgson

Jeremy Daniel Donaldson

Alicia Donhardt

Jennifer Dorrell

David Duncan

Jessica Duncan

Rebecca Duncan

Troy Duncan

Valmarie Duncan

Troy Duncan, Jr.

Bonnie East

Brittany Faria

Sally Flake

Jim Gibford

Patricia Gibford

Grant Gibson

Angie Glace

Jalyn Gonsalves

Megan Gonzales

Karen Gould

Henry Gracia

Deloris Griggs

David Hall

Dale Hansen

Lorene Hansen

Rich Hefner

Jeremy Henderson

Tammy Hileman

Erik Holst

Luana Holst

Nathan Holverstott

Donna House

Roger House

Angel Hutchens

Calee Hutchens

Steven Hutchens

Calee Hutchinson

Nancy Hyzer

Lindsay Jarvis

Charlotte Jefford

Gary Johnson

Gene Johnson

Stephanie Johnson

Taylor Johnson

Austin Jones

Billy Jones

Teresa Jones

Tyler Jones

Nichole Kane

Rebecca King

William King

James Kohlstedt

Kelly Kohlstedt

Brandie Lamb

Dan Larkin

Scott Layton

Steve Leandro

Samantha Lewis

Paul Lewis, Sr.

Lindsey Loy

Johnner MacDonald

Betsy MacGillivray

Merrily Maloney

Lorraine Matthews

Newton Matthews

Patricia McIntyre

Taylor McLendon

Kathryn McNeil

Lee-ann  Mendoza

Elizabeth Mesena-Tharp

Tripp Mikich

Kandie Mincks

Ron Moore

Katie Mueller

Philip Navarro

Jerry Neilsen

Nancy Neilsen

Marty Oberlander

Ashley Obrien

Kelly Osborne

Patricia Owens

Cathy Parker

Ben Parks

Joshua Pepper

Abby Piker

Cali Piker

Danielle Missy Piker

Gracie Piker

Karen Pitts

Tiffany Plotts

Eunice Pond

Sarah Pond

Anthony Portillo

Eric Portillo

Hunter Portillo

Jo Rasmussen

Norma Ray

Susan Read

Kamie Richardson

Karen Rogers

Karen Schambach

Phillis CMA Schlitt

Alexander Schwartz

Chris Schwartz

Diane Lin Schwartz

Lilly Schwartz

Nick Selbman

Curtis Shampine

Erin Shampine

George Shampine

Doug Shelstad

Liz Shelstad

Jennifer Shields

John Sikora

Sharai Smith

Danielle Sneed

Penny Sneed

Robin Souza

David Springer

Jennifer Stilwell

Irene Stites

Brittny Sutton

Duane Swanson

Michelle Szetela

Jamie Talley

Tony Tamburelli

David Tharp

Elizabeth Tharp

Guy Swayze Tharp

Hailey Tharp

Marissa Tharp

Tessa Tharp

Frank Todd

Laura Todd

Dustin  Trevino

Nicole Trevino

Ashea Tucker

John Tucker

Kenneth Utley

Ashley Vargas

George Vargas

Lisa-Anne Vargas

Annie Walker

Nikolaus Walls

Ann Warren

Gary Warren

Desinee Weinberger

Bailey West

Cassidy Whitecotton

Jann Williams

Linda Williams

Ted Williams

Allicia Willis

Karen Willis

Sarah Willis

Tamara Wilson

Thomas Wilson

Stefani Young

Stacie Zakskom



Please visit our website at www.TheCenterNow.org.

Donate to our cause at www.TheCenterNow.org/donate/