Steven Tiner Dominates Civil War Series Event at Placerville Speedway

by Placerville Newswire / Jun 12, 2016 / comments

By PJ Petersen -- Saturday night at the Placerville Speedway, Steven Tiner had a little bit of luck on his side to put him in position to dominate the 30-lap Civil War Series feature event, and qualify for the Johnny Key Classic that is set for August 20th at the Ocean Speedway. 

Lining up on the front of the feature event, Tiner would lead the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster field to green as he jumped to the early lead over Chase Majdic and Greg DeCaires, before the first yellow flag of the night flew on the second lap.

On the extremely slick Placerville Speedway, Tiner would continue to lead the way as DeCaires moved into the second spot. With the lead duo breaking away from the pack, Colby Copeland, Andy Forsberg, and Mason Moore jockeyed for position in the top-five, while Jonathan Allard began working his way through the pack.

As the leaders got into traffic, the yellow would again fly on the 11th circuit and give Tiner a clear track, but would restack the field for another double file restart.

With a yellow on the ensuing restart, a single file restart would see Tiner leave the field in his wake as DeCaires continued to chase after. With Forsberg taking over the third spot, Kyle Hirst and Jonathan Allard would move into the Top-Five as the race settled into an extended green flag run.

Tiner looked to be well on his way to his first Civil War Series win of the season, but a yellow on the 27th lap would turn the race into a three-lap shootout with defending track champion, Greg DeCaires right on his tail.

The immediate restart saw Hirst hop the cushion and bring the yellow back out, but the race’s final restart would see Tiner fend off DeCaires’ challenge as he picked up the win and earned a berth into the Johnny Key Classic.

“I had someone looking over me tonight,” a jubilated Steven Tiner said. “We missed the inversion in time trials, but had some luck on our side and ended up on the front row of our heat and were able to win. Then a little girl pulled us the two pill for the Dash and we ended up on the front row of the feature and the rest his history. I have to thank my Uncle Tom for his help because we ran Hanford Friday night and got home at 4:30am. It’s great to get a win at Placerville Speedway.”

DeCaires would finish in the second spot, and Mason Moore would earn the last spot on the Podium. Forsberg would finish fourth, Allard fifth from 16th, Copeland sixth, Mike Benson seventh, Logan Seavey eighth, Justyn Cox ninth, and Chase Majdic would round out the Top-10.

Saturday night saw a total of 32 cars check into the pit area with Oregon driver, Jarred Ridge earning quick time honors.

A four-heat race program was in place and wins went to Moore, DeCaires, Copeland, and Tiner. Chase Majdic would win the Dash, and Kyle Hirst would come back from a heat race flip to win the B and transfer to the feature event along with Allard, Ridge, Terrell, Seavey, and Geoff Ensign.

The companion division Nor-Cal Dwarf series saw 26 cars on hand for their second visit of 2016.

For the feature event 20 cars would take on the slick Placerville Speedway surface as Thomas Leiby and Toby Brown would set the pace for the 20 lap main. As the green flew, the red would be quickly drawn as the 24n of Mike Grenert would catch the fence off of turn four, flipping violently down the front stretch. Colby Weisz would make significant contact with Grenert, as well, but fortunately both drivers were ok.

As the feature resumed, the race for the top five would be an epic battle between Kevin Bender, Johnny Reeves, Scott Dahlgren and Buddy Olschowka, as slide jobs were thrown by all for the top spot.

As the track dried out more, the lead would expand for Kevin Bender in the late stages of the main event and he would go on to take the win in front of a packed house. Second would be awarded to Johnny Reeves. Third went to Scott Dahlgren, while fourth was Buddy Olschowka and Ray Smith rounded out the top five.

Heat wins went to Mike Grenert, Shawn Jones, Buddy Olschowka, while the B main winner was Doug Martin.

Next Saturday night, Placerville Speedway sits dormant, but will return with the 9th Red Hawk Casino Championship event on June 25th.

For complete details of the 2016 Red Hawk Casino Championship Racing Season, visit Placerville Speedway’s official website at

Join the over 7600 followers of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can interact with fellow fans, drivers, and staff. You can also find Placerville Speedway on Twitter for schedule updates and more by following us @pvillespeedway. In addition, Placerville Speedway is now on Instagram. Please follow us @PvilleSpeedway.

Placerville Speedway is located on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds at 100 Placerville Drive in Placerville. The racing facility is operated by Russell Motorsports Incorporated, which can be reached at the track business office at 530-344-7592.